Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAbout Us

The Flag and General Officers' Network

Download: TFGON Membership Information


To provide a social and War Veteran's network for all Flag and General Officers of the U. S. Armed Forces, active duty, Guard & Reserve, and retired.  TFGON is operated BY Flag & General Officers FOR Flag & General Officers.  Since all Flag and General Officers have served in uniform for 30+ years, all qualify as War Veterans as defined by the IRS.

Sub-Missions include:
  • fostering and promoting continued military war veteran comradery among the membership
  • support for veteran’s memorial ceremonies and observations, and 
  • support for the widows and orphans of fellow war veterans.

  • History of TFGON

    TFGON began in 1995 as an informal social networking group formed by Navy Retired Rear Admirals Charles "Chuck" McGrail, a naval aviator, and James "Jim" Carey, a naval surface warfare officer.  The initial purpose was to simply maintain and retain the friendships and war veteran’s camaraderie that all of us experienced during our military careers and to expand those friendships and networks into the other services for those of us that did not have the opportunity to meet fellow flag and general officers of the other services during our days in uniform.  This small and hearty band of warriors experienced steady growth and a wonderful comradery until Chuck McGrail’s untimely death, whereupon the organization "took a rest" for several years.  Quarterly networking receptions were resumed in 2005 at the request of the membership, and steady and increasing growth has continued since.  With this increased size and growth, a more formal organizational structure was formed in 2008 and TFGON was officially incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia as a not-for-profit war veterans’ organization.


    TFGON is an approved IRS 501.c.19 War Veterans Organization incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and as such is eligible for tax-deductible donations and is authorized to engage in active participation with the U. S. Congress and the federal government on all matters related to the U. S. Armed Forces, national defense, homeland security, and veterans affairs.  TFGON is managed, administered, and operated by an elected Board of Directors and elected and appointed officers. The board consists of one member from each of the 5 military services plus an elected Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer as corporate officers and one Vice Chairman each from the five armed services.


    TFGON members and retired Flag and General Officers are serving across the nation in senior positions in government, in industry, and in the community.

    On the home page, see the "Members"  tab for the following:
  • A Notable Members in senior positions in government
  • A list of TFGON members who have been awarded the Medal of Honor
  • Access to biographies of Flag and General Officers, both active and retired 
  • A directory of TFGON members with contact information
  •        (available only to TFGON members)

    To see an extensive list of TFGON members who have agreed to act as liaisons within their respective organizations, see the Info tab on 
    the home page, and click on Connections. (available only toTFGON members)

    Board of Directors

    Admiral Rob Wray

    Jim Carey

    RADM, USN (ret)

    Chairman Emeritus

    Rob Wray

    RADM, USN (ret)


    William King

    BG, USA (ret)

    Kirk Foster

    RADM, USN (ret)

    Mark MacCarley

    Ted Bowlds

    Lt Gen, USAF (ret)


    Mark MacCarley
    MG, USA

    Gib Godwin

    RADM, USN (ret)

    Committee Chair

    Jeff Hathaway
    RADM, USCG (ret)

    Roger Machut
    Brig Gen, USMC (Ret.)
    Committee Chair

    Lewis S. Roach

    BG, USA (Ret.)

    Scott Wuestoff

    BG, USAF (Ret.)

    Fred M. Rosa, Jr.

    RADM, USCG (Ret.)

    Committee Chair

    James Johnson
    Welton Chase

    James Johnson
    Maj Gen, USAF

    Welton Chase
    BG,  USA (ret)

    Randy Manner
    MG, USA (ret)

    George Voelker
    RADM, USN (ret)
    Committee Chair

    Jeff McDaniels
    Brig Gen, USAF (ret)

    Michael Browne
    RDML, USN (ret)

    Dale Gabel